Student caught over the limit, advice needed!!

Hi there,

Got caught with a breath reading of 44. Was driving a 2 minute journey to a friends house, 1st ever conviction never been in trouble before and was only just over the limit, so I believe I fall into the first penalty bracket. This being said is there any chance the ban can be reduced? My court date is on the 28th March so I have time to find representation, but do I need it? I am a student so money is stretched quite tight already! Just need some advice on the court procedure, I am pleading guilty to the charge, and if I argue any mitigating circumstances such as;

- First conviction
- Clean driving record of 3 years
- Only just over the limit,

could the ban be reduced at all or is it not worth the magistrates time arguing for a reduced ban?

Thanks!

The lowest possible ban that the court can impose for a drink driving offence is 12 months. A ban is mandatory for this offence and 12 months is the lowest length of ban the court will impose. The court can allow you the opportunity to complete a drink driving rehabilitation course. If that is then successfully completed by the required deadline then your ban can be reduced by up to 25%.

The lowest possible ban that the court can impose for a drink driving offence is 12 months. A ban is mandatory for this offence and 12 months is the lowest length of ban the court will impose. The court can allow you the opportunity to complete a drink driving rehabilitation course. If that is then successfully completed by the required deadline then your ban can be reduced by up to 25%.

Thanks! And with the fine, is there any possibility of a reduction there? And with the criminal record, is that there for life or for a certain amount of time, depending on what the magistrate says?