Licence Loss Due To Self-Declaration

Convicted Driver Insurance

birt

Hi all'

Just after a bit of advice. When I had my HGV Medical for my 65th birthday I self-declared that I drink on average 12 pints of beer/24 units a week - which is the amount I've been declaring for the last 35 years. This lead to my licence, including my car and motorcycle entitlement being revoked with no warning. I have never been convicted of drink-driving, and have only a couple of minor speeding convictions from 20 years ago. I have 3 maximum no-claims bonuses.

I've contacted my GP, who says there has been contact from the DVLA, and that he told them that I'd declared to him that I drink an average 14 pints of beer a week. I had a blood test for my birthday which showed full liver function etc. I'm in fairly good health, and ran two half-marathons last year. I asked my doctor about having a Blood CDT test, without changing my drinking habits, to determine exactly how bad my drinking problem was, but he refused, saying my only option was to give up drinking completely (he does seem to be a bit of an anti-drinking zealot..).

This has all come as a bit of a shock TBH, and everybody I know seems a bit incredulous that I could lose my licence without warning for what I thought was moderate social drinking. I've given up on getting my HGV licence back, but with two sports cars and two classic motorcycles it would be nice to be able to drive again sometime in the future if I don't have to give up my entire social life.

I thought the best way to do this would be to take a series of CDT tests and get my drinking down to a level that doesn't effect the levels - so I have a paper trail of results rather than relying on self-declaration. But I assume the DVLA will only take any notice of a test they have ordered rather than one I've ordered myself. Any other advice would be welcome

You will get your licence back, however, you are just going to have to play ball with the DVLA to do so.