Drink driving failed breathlizer first time driving need advice offence

Convicted Driver Insurance

Safi

Hi I got followed home after a Xmas party i didn't stay long as I had to get home for my daughter police were on my doorstep and arrested me for looking drunk n careless driving I explained I had a glass and rushed home for my daughter.they arrested me and took me to a cell I failed the breathlizer as I was so scared n nervous I tried my best but just couldn't I have a court hearing in January its my first time (and last) I took some wine in a bottle for when I got home which they found and kept as evidence. Can someone please tell me if you had related experience and what was the outcome.

By "failed", do you mean your reading was over 40 or you couldn't provide a specimen of breath?

From your post it seems that you have failed to provide a breath specimen. You said you had one glass of wine, a normal glass of wine would not have brought your breath level to a fail in England/Wales/NI. Normal being 175ml, a large 250ml glass would have brought you to the cusp or just over the limit. But by the time you were taken to the police station and faced using the machine you would have been just under the limit by then. For failing to provide a specimen you will be facing a minimum ban of 12 months plus a fine or a low/medium level community order depending on how compliant you were with police.

There is no alternative to a ban for this offence. Unfortunately also failure to provide a specimen automatically puts you into the high risk offender (HRO) category usually reserved for those who blow over 87.5mg (2.5x the limit) this means that before you get your licence back you must pass a medical with a DVLA appointed Dr before you will be granted your licence back.