The 90 day application process for the return of licence after 2nd drink driving disqualification

Convicted Driver Insurance

Coostietightner123

Established Member
Hi all, as per the subject matter. I have been advised by Swansea, and no it to be fact that the DVLA should issue you with forms to instigate the application process for the return of your licence, 90 days before your due date. I'm also an hgv driver.
I have a couple of questions, what is the 90 period for exactly?
Do I have my medicals etc during this time? So when my due date arrives I'm good to go? Hypothetically of course, as I know there is apparently a "huge backlog"
As per the undercover video taken at dvla recently.
I'm also assuming that my car licence and vocational licence will have there own separate medicals yes?
I'm also assuming that the traffic commissioner will probably make me wait a further 3 months possibly before the return of my hgv licence.
Any help or advice appreciated.
Thanks

Hi all, as per the subject matter. I have been advised by Swansea, and no it to be fact that the DVLA should issue you with forms to instigate the application process for the return of your licence, 90 days before your due date. I'm also an hgv driver.
I have a couple of questions, what is the 90 period for exactly?
Do I have my medicals etc during this time? So when my due date arrives I'm good to go? Hypothetically of course, as I know there is apparently a "huge backlog"
As per the undercover video taken at dvla recently.
I'm also assuming that my car licence and vocational licence will have there own separate medicals yes?
I'm also assuming that the traffic commissioner will probably make me wait a further 3 months possibly before the return of my hgv licence.
Any help or advice appreciated.
Thanks
In theory, the 90 days is to allow time for the process to complete.

In practice that will not happen.