HRO definition?

Convicted Driver Insurance

Eirwen

Hi everyone :)

Just looking for a little help here... I was convicted with a breath reading of 87; however, I also gave a reading of 88 at the police station. Which reading will be used to decide if I am an HRO?

Thanks in advance.

Its the reading you give at the police station that goes on record, but since the minimum reading for being classified as an HRO is 87.5, it looks like you're JUST over with the second reading.

Im no lawyer, so please use the "ask a lawyer" section of this forum for sound advice, but with your first reading being marginally under I would be tempted to fight any impending HRO status as it REALLY does impact on your future in so many ways.

Im also surprised the second reading was slightly higher, as usually its lower once you get to the police station.. due to length of time from last drink. Can someone else (Tipsynurse?) jump in here and explain why a second reading at a later time would be higher?

So its the reading that is given at the police station that goes on record so why on earth would you suggest fighting the HRO?? The cut off point has to be somewhere.

No surprise the second reading is ONE unit higher. The posters alcohol levels must have either still been going up or simply the evidential breath machine is more accurate

No surprise the second reading is ONE unit higher. The posters alcohol levels must have either still been going up or simply the evidential breath machine is more accurate

ah, that makes sense... yes, i can imagine the police station machine would be a lot more accurate. Mine dropped by 5 for the second reading by the time it took to get to the police station and be processed.

I just assumed (wrongly) that the time between the two readings, the second one would be lower.