DVLA medical, alcohol dependant

Convicted Driver Insurance

Recovered22

Established Member
Hello everyone, new to the forum here. My ban is up on May the 14th this year, a 12 month ban reduced to 9 months upon completion of the DD awareness course. Need some advice from those who have been around the bend with the DVLA, DVA for me as I'm from in NI. I was diagnosed alcohol dependant last July, I have been alcohol free since the 28th of July 2018 spending 3 months in residential rehab to get myself back on the straight and narrow. By the time I can apply for my licence again I'll be 10 months sober all being well so by the time I get my medical I'll more than likely be 11 months sober or closer to a year. I attend my GP every 6 weeks just for a check in to make sure I'm doing alright and I attend weekly aftercare at the rehab center that I was a resident in. My big question really is will my regular doctor's visits and a letter from the rehab center I was in be enough for the DVLA when I'm completing my medical, has anyone else ever been in a similar situation? Thanks in advance for any help

When did your residential rehab finish? I fear You will not be able to get your licence back until at least a year has elapsed since you finished rehab, rather than when you started it.
The guidance is also that you will not get your licence back for AT LEAST a year after being alcohol dependent, so both these issues will seem to rule out an application in May this year.