Convicted as drink driver. Is my name will appear in my local newspaper?

Convicted Driver Insurance

joe pasha

Well Known Member
Good evening,

I just been charged as a drink driver and got charge plus 17 months ban.
Judge did not say anything about take all driving test again!
Just disqualified!

I was looking on internet and come across this

SCALES OF JUSTICE The latest results from …Magistrates' Court
I saw many people with different offence !
I am now worry if my name will appear on local newspaper too?

You wouldn't have to take your test again with a reading of 87.

Sometimes your name will appear in a paper, sometimes not.

Maybe see if you are in https://www.forum.drinkdriving.org/forums/drink-driving-latest-news.172/
Thanks for reply,
The reason I asked if I have to take my test again is because I’m a new driver who just passed in last January and my licence is not even 1 year old!
Secondly I was definitely 87 and didn’t hurt anyone. So I hope my name doesn’t appear in newspapers

Your name will probably be in the local newspaper. Mine was. My family saw it because they were looking for it. As far as I am aware, nobody else did. You won’t need to take your test again. The Newspaper bit is nothing to do with the sentance. It’s just whether your local rag had a reporter there. If any of my friends or colleagues saw it, they have never mentioned it to me. It’s not information published officially by the court - the newspaper got both my sentence and address wrong. It’s whatever the guy in the public gallery recorded whilst he was half asleep watching all of the trials during the day.

Last edited:
So I have never been in court before and let me tell you who was in court room that day.
3 judge and front of them 2 lady who were judges assistant or I don’t know what you call them.
Duty solicitor was front of me with another 2 people next to him( they could be a reporter)? usher was other side
I was inside a room where I could see them with glasses front of me.