Arrested for a drink driving incident, blew 107, please help! Any advice?

Convicted Driver Insurance

richh_o

Hi, I've made the terrible mistake of driving after drinking and I was arrested on Saturday night. Having attended a birthday party, a friend had asked me to take him home that night as he had to travel in the morning and stupidly I decided to drive after the party. We ended up getting in a little accident, where I hit the rear of another car as I didn't slow down in time, thankfully no one was hurt. The police arrived and arrested me and took me in where I had blown 107, this is my first time getting in any kind of trouble and I have only been driving for about 6 weeks. I haven't been able to eat or sleep since this has all happened and just wanted to know what sort of thing was going to happen to me with the court date in 2 weeks. I know I am in the wrong and it is a terrible mistake that I have deciding to drive. I'm 22, a masters student and my parents don't live in the country so i'm really nervous with how all of this is going to go. Can anyone please give me any advice on what to do in preparation for court and what is likely going to my punishment. This has a terrible decision on my behalf and this whole experience will truly haunt me. I hope someone will be able to help shed some light on my situation for me.

Thank you for taking the time to read and for any advice you are able to give me.

Hi and welcome to the forums.

I know it's difficult but it's important to put things in perspective - as you say no-one was injured, which if you had braked a fraction later could well have happened.

With your result you are likely to get about 100 hours of community service and about a two year ban, possibly slightly more as you had an accident which will be seen as an aggravating factor. Because of the result you will be seen as a high risk offender and you will need to pass a DVLA medical exam before you get your licence back.