Banned this year

Convicted Driver Insurance
Hi everyone,

no doubt just like me there are thousands of us out there that have just been banned in the last few months having been caught around christmas time. I've been on this website quite a lot and find lots of the threads useful and thought a current one for us all would help us all get through this together. I am a student in my final year and have been banned for 13 months, I'm really struggling without being able to drive, it's so inconvenient having to get the early bus home or not being able to visit family and friends in the next town over when I want. I'm also worried about insurance next year, it was £2000 before and I'm not sure how I'm going to be able to afford it next year having graduated :confused: I guess that's a year away however. Such a silly thing to do, I can't believe I did it now! I feel guilty and thank god nobody was hurt. I doubt I will ever drink again, I haven't been able to since I was caught.

How are you all finding it? Is there anyone still waiting to go to court? I'm sure we will all be fine and back on the roads again in the next year or two. We're in for a tough time no doubt however it could be a lot worse than just getting caught being over the limit.

All the best

Hey,

Like you say, you're definitely not alone. I'm also a student, in my second year. I got a 13 month ban too in June last year and it's been a difficult 9 months so far, but the end is almost in sight and it does come around faster than you think.

The way i look at it is, in my circumstances, I will admit I was regularly risking it and it was highly likely that I was going to get caught at some point. I'm just glad it's now while I don't really need a car, rather than a few years down the line when I'm in a good job with a company car etc... At least we've both learned our lessons now so we know never to do it again.