UK licence taken by Spanish court,, yes or no?

Convicted Driver Insurance

spaniard12

Hello everyone,, Happy New Year.

i'm new to DD.org but glad it exists. i hope someone can advise me on my situation.
I will be attending a Spanish Court (Magistrates) very soon.
To answer for a drink driving offence from last summer. I have been told by my Spanish Lawyer that my driving ban will be for a minimum of 8 months plus a fine and/or community service, however she is not aware of the powers of the magistrate to confiscate my UK driving licence which i've had for 25 years.
Nor does she know if the ban includes taking away my full UK Motor Bike licence aswell, as it is a car offence.. WTF...

So does anyone know of such a case or what powers the Spanish Magistrates have over UK Licences etc..
I'm currently residing and working in Spain and need my own transport, as public transport is always on Spanish time or non existent.

Much appreciated for any help given.. Thanks.

The Spanish court have no authority over your UK licence, but they can, and will ban you from driving in Spain so you cannot use your U.K. Licence there as you 'the person' will be disqualified in Spain.
The arrangement should be that the Spnish "DVLA" will either retain your UK licence Or sent it to the UK DVLA. In either case, it will not result in points or a ban appearing on it.
One last thing, a ban is a ban, not just a ban for the class of vehicle you were using at the time so it will apply to the motorcycle part as well.

I would add that the ban will only apply in Spain, they have no reciprical arrangements with other countries so you can drive elsewhere, including the UK.

The Spanish court have no authority over your UK licence, but they can, and will ban you from driving in Spain so you cannot use your U.K. Licence there as you 'the person' will be disqualified in Spain.