Help! Handed myself in for Drink Driving

Convicted Driver Insurance

Luto

I am in a whole heap of trouble and need advice please :(

I have PTSD and have been under a lot of stress - neither excuses for drink driving I know - but I was stupidly anaesthetising anxiety and flash backs with wine - worse still I am a nurse who should have known better!! I am also a nurse

I did the most ridiculous thing I have ever done a few nights ago, something that has led to great shame for me since. I wasn't caught drink driving - I actually punished myself for being inebriated by getting in my car and driving to the local Police station (Approximately one mile away) and handing myself in!!

I was arrested. handcuffed, breathalysed and had two identical readings of 77 in breath. I then spent 14 hours in a cell before being charged - I appear in court in two weeks time. I have never broken the law before and can't quite believe what I have done.

At the Police station I was seen by a lovely mental health nurse who asked me how I had managed to get myself into this position and I told her everything, albeit in floods of tears. Her advice to me was that I need urgent support and a referral to psychiatry due to PTSD. I never talk about this condition as I have tried to manage it myself for years - however I have been questioning since why any sane person would drive to a Police station, knock on the door and confess like I did. I am clearly in need of help, so have asked for a psychiatric referral

The cost of this is huge, so I have self destructed in the worst possible way. I will likely lose my job and license but don't know what to expect in court/whether to represent myself/offer mitigation/or whether they will make an example out of me because I'm a nurse

Can anybody advise please

Many thanks

Luto

Last edited by a moderator:
I am in a whole heap of trouble and need advice please :(