18 Month Ban

Convicted Driver Insurance

BadDecision

Hi Forum, as you can imagine i made a bad decision on drink driving and was only pulled over due to a faulty headlamp. I blew 65mg at the station with no accidents or injuries or anyone involved. I drove a short distance as a friend of mine was in trouble.

I have had good mitigation and provided the court with an apology letter and a character reference. I am currently a final year university student. I regularly also take my grandparents to their hospital appointments as they have severe diabetes and require frequent check-ups. since my ban on the 21/12/15 this has made it extremely difficult for them. I am not looking at attempting to remove my ban as i understand the consequences of my actions, however would this be of any grounds for an appeal to be lodged?

I have been given a 18 month ban, and offered the drink driving awareness course, but this still means i won't be able to drive till FEB 2017, making my grandparents life hell currently.

Thank you

I can see no grounds for you to appeal, you pleaded guilty, you blew 65 and at 18 months, the ban was within the guidelines of 17-22 months. There is provision to apply to have a ban removed after serving half of it, but this is subject to a minimum time elapsed of 2 years, so you do not qualify for that.

Hi Forum, as you can imagine i made a bad decision on drink driving and was only pulled over due to a faulty headlamp. I blew 65mg at the station with no accidents or injuries or anyone involved. I drove a short distance as a friend of mine was in trouble.