Trying to make a difference - your stories needed!

Convicted Driver Insurance

WalsallYPHA

Hi,

I work as a health adviser for the NHS in Walsall, West Midlands and I'm about to work on a pre-Xmas drink driving campaign (yes, I love to leave things til the last minute...)

Anyway, I'm looking for real-life (anonymised) stories of your drink-driving experiences that I can use to illustrate the point that you can't really be sure what a 'safe' level of drinking is.

I'm hoping that people will find real experiences more interesting, surprising, compelling, useful, and ultimately persuasive than the usual bland 'don't drink and drive' messages?

I'm particularly interested in cases of people who have been caught 'the morning after', but any information is useful, especially if you had drunk a surprisingly small amount.

What I'd like to know from you is:
a) What time did you start drinking?
b) What did you drink?
c) What time did you stop drinking?
d) What time were you breathalysed? (and why - random campaign, traffic accident, reported?)
e) What was the reading?
f) Did it occur to you that you might be over the limit, but didn't think it likely that you'd be caught, or did you not even consider that you'd be over the limit?
g) What were the consequences for you? (e.g. level of fine, length of ban, any impact on work/home/travel etc)
h) Anything that surprised you about this experience?
i) Do you have any advice/reflections on your experience?

If you'd like to give me more background info to the circumstances of your scenario which helps to make it more real, but still anonymous, that would be great e.g. what you were doing while drinking, why you chose to drive etc. but I can work around it if you don't want to provide that info.

I'll be giving you a fake identity anyway (name & photo), but your real age, gender, and the job that you do would also be helpful in making your 'character' come to life but not essential - it's the facts that are the most important.