charged for drink driving do i need to tell my employer

Convicted Driver Insurance

favour1975

Got charged for drink driving for urine test reading 110 instead of 107 legal limit. I am really devastated because I didn't even feel I was over the limit. I will be pleading at the court, and I will get a ban of about 12 months (possibly reduced to 9 months if I take the course). Do I need to tell my employer,because I work in a school as a teacher even though my work is not driving related.

Got charged for drink driving for urine test reading 110 instead of 107 legal limit. I am really devastated because I didn't even feel I was over the limit. I will be pleading at the court, and I will get a ban of about 12 months (possibly reduced to 9 months if I take the course). Do I need to tell my employer,because I work in a school as a teacher even though my work is not driving related.

My advise would be to check any employment contracts that are in place and contact the General Teaching Council who are an executive agency of the Department for Education responsible for the regulation of the teaching profession.

the problem is that I am still awaiting my contracts because I am starting at a new school on 1st September. This new school already confirmed my appointment via writing and already had my CRB check done which came clean, but the drink driving issue happened after the CRB check had been done. So should I wait until the formal contracts are sent before making a decision, at the end of the day the school still holds a clean CRB records of me.

In regards to informing the General Teaching Council, this body has been scrapped. They don't exist anymore.

favour i was in exactly the same boat as you. got my contracts through in october for a job starting in february, my crb was done in october, i was convicted in november. i didnt tell them and nothing has ever been said or asked. i was lucky that i wasn't plastered all over the local papers though. good luck.