they couldn't get me for anything else.

Convicted Driver Insurance

limeyphil

it's been an interesting couple of years.
i was a hgv driver, and i was arrested at dover for smuggling 4.5 million cigarettes. they tried to get me to admit to the smuggling, but i knew nothing about them. then there was the time at another port, they found some illegal immigrants. once again i knew nothing. then there was the KGB in Belarus. i was guilty because they said so. even though i had no idea that western beer is strictly contraband in europes last dictatorship. silly me. so the only conviction i've had was not even by the british authorities, but one that is so far away, that not many people know it exists.
anyway.
i was pulled, and searched at every port i came through. they were determined to get me for something. it started with the UKBA, then special branch, and the anti terrorist squad would have a go. 44 searches, out of 47 uk border entries.
anyway one day i got chatting to some romanians, and police in france. we had some wine before bording the ferry.
then 5 hours later when we disembarked special branch had a sweeney moment, and went all out and arrested me for drink driving. they reckon i was 3.5 times the limit.
but the thing is, i don't they should have nicked me. i've known loads of lorry drivers get hammered, drive off a boat, and park up. no one bothers them, as long as they don't drive off the port.
i will get my licence back in october 2013. can i drive straight away, or will i have to wait for dvla to issue my licence. i've still got my old one, as i use it abroad.

thanks.

it's been an interesting couple of years.