Job Application

Convicted Driver Insurance
I was disqualified for drink driving 26 years ago. I blew 43 and received one a year disqualification and a
£200 fine. I had a clean licence prior to this and haven't been prosecuted for any offence since.
I have therefore had a clean licence for 15 years since the DR10 was removed.
Recently I applied to be a bus driver however, I was informed that they won't take any driver who
has been disqualified at any time in the past even if it was 26 years ago.
I have been driving for 39 years and have never had an accident.
I therefore realise that a clean licence after clearing the 11 year DR10 isn't worth
the paper it's written on.
I also realise that a 39 year accident free driving record isn't worth anything either.
Interesting food for thought.

cheifmegawtty, I read your post yesterday and although I understand the rehabilitation of offenders act fairly well, I did not reply. I had hoped Price1367 may of come on and answered you. I know the act states that your type of conviction is classed as "spent" after 5 years. However a bus drivers job involves dealing with children, the elderly, vulnerable people, disabled people etc etc!!

However I have read that Sean Joyce Stevensons firm of solicitors "who offer free advice" on this forum have a department that can get spent drink drive convictions wiped of your criminal history!!!! This is new to me, but my advise is: " cut and paste your original post in (The ask a solicitor) section of these forums"

Thanks Bristol Red for your advice. I have copied and pasted my post into the solicitors advice
section as per your instruction. A few months ago there were articles in the press saying that all minor
offenders who didn't receive a custodial sentence will have their criminal record wiped clean after ten years.
Unfortunately none of the articles said when this was going to happen.