Driving whilst disqualified.

Convicted Driver Insurance

AndyCabs

Well Known Member
I am currently into 22 months of a 36 month ban, second drink driving offence.

I decided to move the car further down the street as an annual bonfire was due to take place close to where my car was parked. Other residents had did the same. On previous occasions my partner did that but I live by myself now. My car was pointing towards the bonfire so in the process of doing the 3-point turn I noticed a police car further down the street. I parked outside my house and the police car passed, stopped and the policewoman came over to me asked for my driving licence by name. I asked her to come into the house as I didnt want neighbours watching what was occurring.

She knew I was a disqualified driver and her partner had also arrived at the house. I was told I was not being arrested as this was my first time of being stopped, but being charged with driving whilst disqualifed as they had seen me and I had admitted it. I answered a few questions which were recorded in the officer's notebook and was told my car was to be possessed and my offence was to be passed to the Prosecution Service for action. I was informed i would likely receive an extension to my ban. My car was possessed and I wasnt given and other documentation except the possession form.

After reading Posts on this forum I am unclear what will happen, will I have to go to court, should I seek advice from a Solicitor. As this is the first time into a lengthy ban and I had mitigating circumstances (Car was parked too close to a bonfire and didnt want it damaged plus I had no-one else to move it etc..) The officer didnt seem to concerned about what would happen, he said I would get the ban increased and would probably be informed by post. This seems very unlikely. Any advice would be wellcome.

I am currently into 22 months of a 36 month ban, second drink driving offence.