Criminal Offence Charge

Convicted Driver Insurance

Holly Khoury

I was pulled over on my birthday (15/12/1990) on my way to the airport in the early hours. I had been out with friends celebrating the night before with dinner and drinks was home by 11 and up the next day at 3am. I was pulled over because I was the only car on the road, was a random test, I blew over and was taken to the station. I officially blew 41. The officers were very nice as they could tell I was not drunk and they knew I had to get to the airport or I would miss my flight and rushed me through then let me drive my car away once I was finished being booked in. They breathalysed me at my car 45mins later and I blew a 26 so he happily let me drive away... made my flight by the skin of my teeth.

The real issue for me is that I'm a forensic scientist and a criminal charge will be very bad for my career. I have a squeaky clean record with full points before this incident. I work for a private company in the U.K. So my current job should be safe but my whole family live in Australia and I was looking to move back next year with experience under my belt to get a job working for the police (that's always been the plan as the jobs are highly sought after here) in Aus however, with a criminal charge I will not be able to come back as it will be on my record for 10 years!

I came to Aus for the Christmas period and have not had a chance to speak to an English solicitor yet and my court case is the day I get back! I have spoken to my moms Australian solicitor who told me that in Aus, because of my current occupation, they could mitigate the charges to not give me the offence but I will have points and a fine. He said that they do it all the time for doctors lawyers etc. Can this be done in the UK?