Can I appeal over a ban length?

Convicted Driver Insurance

supersi_1980

Hello Newbie here!

I was convicted at the start of March for Drink Driving - the reading was 95mg.

Let me briefly explain the situation in which i was caught as it's not the usual pull over story etc. A couple of days into this year me and (the now ex) wife had been having really bad marriage problems. Ended up on a Saturday with her disappearing all day and me walking into town to the pub. Later on I had walked back home and a short while later she comes back too. She could tell I had been drinking and a massive row errupted.

Ended up with her calling her parents who turned up shouting the odds and her Dad grabbing me and pushing me about. To get out of there and to stop me lumping him one I stormed off and, without thinking about what I'd had to drink, drove off in the car.

I felt fine to drive and want to a mates to let the situation calm down. I think what had happended had sobered me up to the extent I'd forgotten all about being over the limit. A couple of hours later she texts me saying her folks had gone and asking me to come home to try and patch our marriage up. Anyway, off I drive the couple of miles back home and reverse park in our residents car park and walk to the front door.

The police then drive up the car park entrance and you can guess the rest. Turns out my (ex) Mrs had called them and once they were ready and waiting she had asked me to come home. The police even said to me they watched me drive up the road and park and would never have suspected me of being over the limit had they not been told.

I was given a 24 month ban and 80 hour community service. I've knocked the community service off already but the ban is really starting to become a problem as I've had to move out of our ex-home and further away from work (which I do need to travel for but am just about getting round this at the moment)