Hi got arrested for Drink Drive, Driving on Prol Lic and No Insurance

Convicted Driver Insurance

VVSS

Hi, I am a 47 male professional I was driving on my American Driver Lic and with my International Driver Lic holder Insurance via Aviva when I got arrested on 27 July for Drink Drive, they also found small amount of class A drugs in the car (which was from other individuals that I had given a ride). After the arrest it was found out that I had a Provisional Lic and that I had no insurance and even if I did it would be invalid.

I was driving on the US Lic because I travel back and forth to the US on business and thought that the International Lic Insurance holder would cover me as I migrated to the UK Lic. To complicate matters, I found out that this Inter Lic Holder insurance had been cancelled on the 14th of July (After having it over a year) due to not verifying my new address. Also, my MOT was expired.

I have been completely confused on UK driver law because of mixed information from local authorities. Also I had moved twice and both times (this now being the second) my insurance lapsed and was stopped and caught in this state of affairs.

I am a professional with no prior criminal record here and having just purchased a house with my partner on the UK Gov Help to Buy Scheme and being the 75% contributor to the household bills, I am completely afraid of losing my professional work, home and future income potential due to this blunder of errors, bad judgement and over sights on my behalf. I am completely lost with UK law as I keep looking at it through the lens of my 22 years on living in the US.

I desperately need some insight on what to do next.