first time caught drink driving

Convicted Driver Insurance

pavdha

I was pulled over last night but not because there were any defects to my car or anything but the officers reason was because he was travelling on the other side of the road and saw a new bmw he automatically thought it was stolen (maybe because i was wearing a hoody and im also Asian). i was not speeding or doing anything illegal yet they turned on their lights from miles behind me and followed me till i stopped in a safe place. they the breathalysed me and i blew 59 at the road side, they then took me to the station and i blew into the machine and got 51 and 49 so they took the 49 reading they then offered to give me a blood test which i opted for and was half a hour before it was drawn. I am a school teacher and I had left valuables in my car so they took me back to my car half a hour later and breathalysed me again where i blew 29 and they said i was now ok to drive. I am now waiting for the blood test results and have no idea what will happen next and what to expect, could you please shed some light on my position?

many thanks in advance.

Everybody's physiology is different so it is impossible to say whether you will be over or under the limit with any precision. However due to the short period of time between the breathalyser test and the blood sample being provided I think it is more likely that your reading would still be over the limit.

Once you attend bail at the police station they will confirm whether your blood results come back over or under the limit. If they are under then you should be released without charge and that will be the end of it. However if your reading is over the limit then you will be charged and bailed to attend a hearing at the local Magistrates Court.