advice needed

Convicted Driver Insurance

glenn

Hi i was done for dd i blew in the machine at the staition and was told to blow again for the second specimen,i asked what the reading was? and the officer replied that the machine dont tell you what you blew,i know that was a lie so after a little ranting he told me it was 69, now he told me to blow again,dont you have to leave it for a while before i blow again,no is the reply? thinking he is trying to trap me i asked for a blood test,you cant have one i was told. now i am being told iam refusing to give a sample,no i aint i just want to see the doc..you want to see the doc asked the officer. yes i reply with that i was put in a cell,the doc came and saw me gave me a test,when i asked him if he is gonna take my blood he said no..iam just here to make sure your okay so now iam charged for not providing a test.this is my first time is it worth getting legal aid.thanks for any replys

It's fine to do the second breath test shortly after the first. The machine will re-calibrate itself between tests. Everyone must do the 2 breath tests in the police station. If your reading is 40 to 50 you have the right to ask for a blood test to be carried out. The only other way to get out of the breath test is if you have proven medical problems to do with your breathing etc then your blood will be tested instead. Any reading above 50 using a breathalyser in the station and you'll be charged with dd. When I did my breath tests in the police station I was told the results only after the 2 tests were completed. I was also told the lowest is the one that they would use.

Unfortunately you've done the wrong thing by not co-operating with the police. The time to ask questions about their procedures would have been when you talked to a solicitor.