FCA Approved Person Application

Convicted Driver Insurance

Razza100

Hi,

I was convicted of drinking driving in December 2008. I had a fine and a ban and completed a rehabilitation course. My conviction is now spent, however, I have to disclose my conviction when applying to the FCA to become an Approved Person.

This was my first and only offence. I have 20 years experience in my profession and no other negative marks against my character or financial situation.

My question is has anyone successfully applied to the FCA to be an Approved Person whilst having to disclose a drink driving conviction?

Many thanks.

Hi,

I was convicted of drinking driving in December 2008. I had a fine and a ban and completed a rehabilitation course. My conviction is now spent, however, I have to disclose my conviction when applying to the FCA to become an Approved Person.

This was my first and only offence. I have 20 years experience in my profession and no other negative marks against my character or financial situation.

My question is has anyone successfully applied to the FCA to be an Approved Person whilst having to disclose a drink driving conviction?

Many thanks.

Hi There,

Not appiled to be an appoved person with FCA. (Therefore, I am unable to offer any personal advice.)

I did have a quick google and found this. Maybe it's of help https://www.fca.org.uk/firms/approved-persons/disclosing-criminal-convictions

However could not find the listed offences under the Rehab of Offenders ask.

Given your clean record apart from the one oopsie, I wouldn't think they are overly worried about that, given finance based - probablaby more worried about fraud, money laundering, other financial crimes etc. Your DD offence may have a small but I would say monir impact.

Hope this is of some use (the link)

Morning

Drink driving is a unique offence because it doesn't reflect on a person's integrity.