Newbie questions.

Convicted Driver Insurance

Inzo2

Hi all, newbie here. Have a couple of questions to ask, if I may.
Won't bore you with too much detail, so I'll try and keep it to the point as much as possible.
Passed test in mid-late 90s.
Got caught and convicted of two alcohol related offences within first 2 years....subsequently got banned for 2 years and license revoked under new drivers act.
Ban was up in early noughties (2001, 2002...one of those two years.) However, I have not driven since as really haven't had the need to, until now. Made some preliminary enquiries with DVLA who have told me that because I'm considered a high risk offender, I will have to undergo a medical. Now, seeing as my ban was up 15-16 years ago, and the offences for which I was banned were commited best part of 20 years ago....am I still considerd high risk? Does the DVLA have a time scale by which they consider you as a high risk for? Also, I have read that the high risk offenders medical legislation did not come into effect until June 2013 (or was it 15?). Anyway, I did read that offenders before that could not considered as high risk, as the legislation wasn't in place. Like I said, DVLA have told me I have to undergo a medical, yet info in another thread on this forum suggests the contrary.
Would somebody please categorically confirm which is the case? Also if you have a link to the source of info, that would be great.
I know, you see, that when I do get my license (yes, I know it will be a provisional and I'll have to resit tests again), there will be no record of my previous offences. My friend has said to me that if there's no record of offence, then I won't have to undergo the medical, this is in addition to the info regarding when the legislation came into effect and does it apply in my case.
So, in a nutshell....medical, or not. We're the DVLA incorrect in what they told me?
Sorry to ramble, I did, honestly, intend to keep it short and to the point, lol.