Too early for medical?

Convicted Driver Insurance

Bear36

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Tahoma, Calibri, Geneva, sans-serif]Hi I am coming to end of my 6mth disqualification period for being drunk in charge of vehicle with excess alcohol on breath. I sent off my application last week only for it to be returned on Monday stating I am high risk offender and have to attend medical ! I am quite nervous bout this as I am depending on getting my licence back as I am a hgv driver and my livelihood depends on it. I had been drinking heavy (every night 6-8 beer) up until October last year and since then I have cut down to fri sat and Sunday! I have no alcohol now in 1 week and I am wondering how long I would now need to be alcohol free in order to pass the medical! Will a few weeks be sufficient or would I need longer, I have also started taking. 300mg milk thistle twice daily. I have been to my gp Monday who took my bloods just to see what way my liver function is and I'm getting those results this afternoon. Also if I get my licence back will my hgv entitlements be automatically reinstated. I'm in Northern Ireland.[/FONT]

How did the medical end up going, Bear?