Advise for the DVLA medical

Convicted Driver Insurance

03matchs

Hi everyone,

Its nearly been five years since I was banned (im now 25.) At the time i was a student and made a very stupid mistake. I have to pass a DVLA medical prior to getting my license back and I have a few questions that maybe somebody could help me out with?

I am certainly not an alcoholic by any stretch of the imagination but I am a big bloke and do consider myself overweight. With it being xmas recently i have drank a bit but nothing excessive since the 28th of november last year. I have only had 3 drinks in total this year all in the first week of Jan on different days but nothing since. Obviously after being a student I have drank a lot in the past but never considered myself alcohol dependent. I have a blood test in September last year and my GGT was 169 which had fallen from a higher reading possibly due to sport supplements I take but who knows. After securing a new job and completing my MSc I would like to start the year by getting my license back too. I row 4 times a week and do weights and im currently trying to loose weight and eat a better diet. I take milk thistle tablets as ive read they can help.

My questions are:

Is there a time you have to not drink for to pass the medical?
What are the questions they ask at the medical?
Does a high GGT reading mean I will fail?

Any light that could be shed on them would be really great and also if you have any extra advise.

Thank you

Hi everyone,

Its nearly been five years since I was banned (im now 25.) At the time i was a student and made a very stupid mistake. I have to pass a DVLA medical prior to getting my license back and I have a few questions that maybe somebody could help me out with?